logosvk

56th St. Martinusprijs Kontich
Four day Stage Race UCI-Interclub juniores 5-8 july 2019

historiek1historiek3historiek4

On September 3rd 1955 a fan club was created to support Jul Mertens, a local cyclist of the town of Kontich. It is the start of a cycling club which in 1963 counted already a large number of cyclists, one of them being the actual president, Mr. Van Moer.

The same year, the club, which took the name of “Steeds Vooraan“ starts to organize some races and in 1964, the club organizes its first “ Prix Saint MARTINUS “. This first competition is won by Gregoire Van Kuyk, who – two years later – died in a regrettable accident during a race.

A year later, in 1965, the Prix St. MARTINUS, becomes a tree days event “the Léon Van Gastel Cup“ with an interclub competition for junior cyclists. The first year, 11 clubs participate including the French “Bordeaux-Paris“ club along with some well known cyclists, as there are Jos De Schoenmaeker and Jos Huysmans.

The competition is growing every year and welcomes top level cyclists so that the race - as from 1991 – is given a place on the UCI calendar. For example, the competition welcomed in 1984 Hedwig van Hooydonk, later a two times winner of the famous Tour of Flanders.

Already in 1991 the following countries were participating: Germany, United Kingdom, Denmark, Finland, Ukraine, South Africa, Netherlands, Lithuania, Norway, Spain and the United States. Since then all this countries have regularly participated ( some even up to five times ) in the Prix St. MARTINUS.

We have the honor in listing some of the well known winners in recent years

  • 1996 Wellens ( several times world champion cyclocross )
  • 1997 Gert Steegmans
  • 1999 Stefan Schafer ( world champion juniors 1999 )
  • 2003 Patrick Gretsch ( world champion juniors 2004 )
  • 2006 Marcel Kittel ( European Champion 2009 )

Since 2001, the PRIX SAINT MARTINUS has become a 4 days competition, the only one of its kind in Belgium and with a guaranteed participation of minimum 20 teams.

The race is strongly supported by the local authorities of the town of Kontich, which may be considered as the city by excellence to support cycling for youngsters in Flanders. This efforts are strengthened by those of the Royal Cycling Club “STEEDS VOORAAN“, its president, Mr. Van Moer, the sponsors and all the volunteers.

We sincerely hope to contribute during many year to come to the promotion of cycling.

*** 

historiek6historiek7historiek2

vlaamsekruis1kontichleeftprovant  uci sportingantwerpenwbvlogo antwerpen fm

logosvk

56ième St. Martinusprijs Kontich
Interclub de quatre jours UCI-interclub juniores 5-8 juillet 2019

historiek1historiek3historiek4

Le 03 septembre 1955, un club de supporters était crée pour soutenir Jul Mertens, coureur local de Kontich. Cet initiative était l’origine d’un club cycliste qui comptait en 1963 un premier groupe de coureurs dont notre président actuel, Monsieur Van Moer.

Dans la même année, le club “STEEDS VOORAAN“ commence à organiser des courses cyclistes et en 1964, le club organise son premier "Prix SAINT MARTIN". Cette première compétition est gagnée par Grégoire Van Kuyck, qui – deux ans plus tard – meurt dans un accident malheureux durant une course.

En 1965, le prix Saint Martin devient une course inter club de trois jours pour juniors, qui se disputent la coupe Léon Van Gastel. Onze équipes participent dont le club cycliste Français Bordeaux-Paris. Parmi le coureurs, on y retrouve de noms connus comme Jos De Schoenmaeker, Jos Huysmans et autres.

Chaque année, la course grandit et accueille des coureurs renommés ( dont en 1984 Hedwig Van Hooydonk, plus tard deux fois gagnant du Tour des Flandres, pour arriver en 1991 sur le calendrier international de l’UCI.

En 1991 nous comptons parmi les pays participants: l’Allemagne, l’Angleterre, le Danemark, la Finlande, l’Ukraine, l’Afrique du Sud, les Pays Bas, la Lituanie, la Norvège, l’Espagne et les Etats-Unis. Depuis lors, tous ces pays ont participé à plusieurs reprises ( certains même quatre fois ) au prix Saint Martin.

Voici quelques gagnants remarquables:

  • 1996 Bart Wellens ( plusieurs fois champion du monde Cyclocross )
  • 1997 Gert Steegmans
  • 1999 Stefan Schafer ( champion du monde juniors 1999 )
  • 2003 Patrick Greisch ( champion du monde juniors 2004 )
  • 2006 Marcel Kittel ( champion Crono d’Europe 2009 )

Depuis 2001 le PRIX SAINT MARTIN est devenu une compétition de quatre jours, la seule et unique course de cette catégorie en Belgique avec un minimum de vingt équipes participantes.

La compétition est fortement soutenue par la commune de Kontich, qui de ce fait peut être considérée comme la commune cycliste pour la jeunesse par excellence en Flandres. S’ajoutent les efforts du Club Royale Cycliste de Kontich “STEEDS VOORAAN“, de son président, Mr. Van Moer, ses sponsors et de tous les volontaires.

Nous espérons contribuer encore durant de longues années à la promotion du sport cyclisme !!!

*** 

historiek6historiek7historiek2

vlaamsekruis1kontichleeftprovant  uci sportingantwerpenwbvlogo antwerpen fm